Menu Close



Kangaroos are the largest living marsupials from the family Macropodidae. There are four species commonly referred to as the kangaroo: the red kangaroo, the eastern grey kangaroo, the western grey kangaroo, and the antilopine kangaroo.

A kangaroo is a unique plant eating marsupial that is only found in Australia and New Guinea. It has long strong tail and powerful hind limbs that helps it in leaping.

Marsupials are those animals that carry their young ones in their natural pouch.

Kangaroos are the biggest marsupials.

Kangaroos have small head and small front legs. They are herbivores, and regurgitate their food like cows.

Kangaroo is a national symbol of Australia and is part of Australian ‘coat of arms’ and some currencies.


Kangaroos are grazing herbivores, which means their diet consists mainly of grasses. They can survive long periods without water.

The kangaroo is the national symbol of Australia.

Eastern gray kangaroo (Macropus giganteus): 8,978,000.
Western gray kangaroo (Macropus fuliginosus): 1,774,000.
Red kangaroo (Macropus rufus): 8,351,000.

Kangaroos are found in Australia and Tasmania, as well as on surrounding islands. Kangaroos live in varied habitats, from forests and woodland areas to grassy plains and savannas.

Kangaroos live and travel in organized groups or “mobs,” dominated by the largest male. Male kangaroos are called boomers, bucks or jacks; females are does, flyers, or jills, and the young ones are joeys. The collective noun for kangaroos is a mob, troop or court.

Usually, female kangaroos give birth to one joey at a time. Newborns weigh as little as 0.03 ounces at birth – as small as a lima bean! After birth, the joey crawls into its mother’s pouch, where it will nurse and continue to grow and develop. Red kangaroo joeys do not leave the pouch for good until they are more than eight months old. Gray kangaroo joeys wait until they are almost a year old.

we support the goals and beliefs of other charity foundations and would like to join them!

Stand with us in condemning the killing of wildlife for trophies, both in the United States and around the world. Pledge to do what you can to end this cruel and unsportsmanlike pastime.